Simple Fingerless Mittens and Hat

September 27, 2009 at 3:06 pm Leave a comment

As the weather has been colder and colder here in Denmark (especially in the mornings when I bike the 6yr old to kindergarten!) I’ve found myself increasingly thinking about mittens.  Fingerless are best, because childcare often leaves one needing full use of their hands.  The internet failed me on this account (mostly because I’m too lazy to search for longer than twenty minutes for a pattern.)  The first pair I made were far too small, and many of the others looked fancier or more complicated than I generally prefer.  So I made my own pattern.  Then I made a hat to go with it.  A scarf may be on its way…



These patterns were made using a size K hook with 3 skeins of worsted weight wool.

Fingerless Mittens

  • Holding all three strands of yarn together, chain 25
  • Row 1:  In the 4th chain from hook, dc 22.  The chain counts as 1st dc. (23)
  • Row 2-10: Ch 2, dc 22, ch counts as 1st dc. (23)
  • Row 11: Ch 2, dc 7, hdc 1, sc 1, slip to end.
  • Sew ends leaving room for thumb (I sew directly on my hand because I’d rather make sure my fingers are covered as I like than count stitches and have it fit poorly, but if you’re a counter, from wrist to fingers I sewed 15 stitches, skipped 4, then sewed the rest.  Though I actually leave the very last stitch unsown, creating a slight dip that allows for slightly better flexibility, imo.)

(Make two, unless you are differently handed.)

Hat

  • Holding all three strands of yarn together, chain 2
  • Rnd1: In 2nd ch from hook, dc 6
  • Rnd 2: In spiral rounds throughout, dc 2 in ea st (12)
  • Rnd 3: dc 2 in ea st (24)
  • Rnd 4: dc 2 in ea st (48)
  • Rnd 5-15: dc around (48)
  • Sew ends in.

Please note that I made these patterns specifically to fit me and are NOT one size fits all.  For larger hands increase the mittens pattern by adding an extra round(s) in the middle.  For larger heads, increase the fifth round by stitches that are common denominators of 48 (ie: for 54 stitches around instead of 48, dc 6, then dc 2 in next st, rpt.)  Also, the top of the hat is not a completely flat spiral, it will ruffle a bit.  This is not a problem once it is on your head, as yarn stretches and the hat (and gloves, for that matter) should fit snugly.

I’m thinking I might have enough yarn left over to make a matching scarf as well.  For this I am just going to chain to the desired length, then dc enough rows to get to a desired width.  Simple, right?

-Ariel

Entry filed under: Hook. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Friday Feminist Quick Clicks On Comment Moderation

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cook & Hook

A fun, feminist blog for the Suzy Homemaker in some of us.

Calender

September 2009
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Categories

1 Book Cook Hook Other

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other subscriber