Book Club- Suggestions?

October 18, 2009 at 2:10 pm 4 comments

I want to start a book club on this site.  I miss reading books with people and discussing them afterwards (no matter how much I griped about it in my lit classes.)  Is anyone interested?

I don’t think this book club will have any particular focus.  I’m open to modern books, classics, nonfiction, poetry, genres, anything.  I’m thinking I’d assign a book every 3-4 weeks depending on its size.  Because this is the internet and the threads will always be open I feel that is an appropriate amount of time.  Conversations can always be joined, comments always added, and books skipped if not to ones particular taste.

So since this is the first thread to this book club I am going to ‘assign’ the book I am currently reading (below) and ask for suggestions for the next book, and any ideas anyone has to add about anything remotely relevant.  Also, the internet informs me that these are things to think about when reading/discussing a novel (which this first book is.)


Book: “The Edible Woman” by Margaret Atwood.

Date to aim for: Sunday, November 8th.

Again: comments, suggestions, ideas, etc are very welcome.

-Ariel

Entry filed under: Book. Tags: , .

Friday Feminist Quick Clicks, 4 Banana-Chocolate Marbled Muffins

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lin  |  October 18, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Great idea. I just put the book on hold at the library. I would like to suggest Lisa See’s Snowflower and the Secret Fan. It’s a story about young girls growing up in 19th century China, their journey into womanhood and the culture that surrounds them.

    Reply
  • 2. Lin  |  October 19, 2009 at 8:45 am

    I am currently watching this author on TV and this book sounds interesting. It’s called When Everything Changed. Here’s a link to a description: http://www.hachettebookgroup.com/books_9780316071666_Description.htm

    Reply
  • 3. Ariel  |  November 1, 2009 at 9:46 am

    The second book you mentioned looks really interesting. It might not be next months book (I might not be able to get it in time) but I’ll definitely queue it up on the list.

    Reply
  • 4. http://magalyinspire.secure2cart.com/  |  August 18, 2010 at 1:12 am

    go on this site for books

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cook & Hook

A fun, feminist blog for the Suzy Homemaker in some of us.

Calender

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

1 Book Cook Hook Other

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


