Apple Pie

November 22, 2009 at 6:55 am 1 comment

Ahh!  I can not, for the life of me, find my camera battery charger.  So no pics, unfortunately.  Anyway since Thanksgiving is not a Danish holiday (obviously) but I am an American, I am cooking Thanksgiving dinner here tonight for my host dad’s birthday.  I’m excited, this is the first Thanksgiving dinner I’ve ever planned and executed myself.  Yesterday to prepare I made an apple pie (recipe below,) a pumpkin cheesecake (recipe tomorrow or later tonight if I don’t pass out after all that turkey dinner,) and my grandma’s cranberry glop. As soon as my host mom is done baking birthday buns (a Danish birthday tradition) I’ll be plopping the turkey in the oven and starting on some mashed potatoes, stuffing, green bean casserole, and gravy.  I’ll post all those recipes over the next week prior to Thanksgiving actually showing up.  Anyway here’s my apple pie recipe:


Apple Pie Filling

Ingredients:

  • 6 large green apples, peeled and sliced
  • a squeeze of lemon juice
  • 1.5 dl/0.75 cup white sugar
  • 1 dl/ 0.5 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp flour (if the mixture is a bit liquid)
  • a couple shakes of cinnamon, nutmeg, and/or clove to taste
  • 2-3 tsp butter

Mix:

  1. In a large bowl, coat the apples everything but the butter, adding the flour last if there is liquid at the bottom of the bowl.
  2. Pour into pie crust (recipe below) and top with a couple tsp butter placed randomly to melt as it bakes.

Apple Pie Crust:

Ingredients:

  • 450g/3.5 cups all purpose flour
  • a pinch of salt
  • 2 dl/1 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1 dl/0.5 cup cool water

Cook:

  1. Preheat oven to 180’C/375’F.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the flour and salt to remove any lumps.
  3. Put the shortening in the middle of the bowl, coat  your hands with flour in order to minimize contact with the shortening (we don’t want it to melt) and work the flour into it.  This might take a while (and it might help to chop the shortening up a bit first,) but just keep pressing the flour into the shortening until they are one.
  4. Add the water and work the dough into a ball.  Don’t knead it- the least amount of contact is still best.  Add more water by the tbsp if more is needed to keep a ball shape.
  5. Cut the ball in half and roll it out to line your pie pan.  If you can’t roll out a full flat bit, cut that in half and piece it together (thats how I do it.)  Add the pie filling.
  6. For the top, I prefer to roll out the remaining dough, cut it into strips, and weave the top.  This is because I cannot roll out a flat pie top.  If you can roll out a flat pie top, feel free to do so, just make sure to fork it a bit so the air can escape once it’s pinched on.
  7. Brush the top with cream or milk and dust with sugar and/or cinnamon.
  8. Bake for 50-60 minutes.

Yum!


-Ariel

Entry filed under: Cook. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Feminist Friday Quick Clicks, 9 Book Club, Book 2

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. sandysays1  |  November 22, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Ariel,
    I’ll give your recipe to my human and insist on a command performance. The excellent instructions you gave will certainly help. So many good recipes fall short when it comes to the “How.”
    If you want something a little different visit me at http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com for a great breakfast recipe sandwiched in between some laughs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cook & Hook

A fun, feminist blog for the Suzy Homemaker in some of us.

Calender

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

1 Book Cook Hook Other

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


