Pumpkin Black Bean Soup (recipes from my mom’s cookbook)

November 10, 2009 at 2:25 pm 2 comments

Guest post from my mom =]  (Thanks)

I’m going to add that this recipe is delicious and has a bit of a tex-mex taste to it.

-Ariel


Hi there!  I’m Lin and I happen to be Ariel’s mother.  Currently Ariel and I are approximately six thousand miles apart.  Thanks to the internet the distance doesn’t really exist for us.  Like Ariel I very much enjoy cooking and baking.  My cooking style is a little different.  For starters I’m a vegetarian as is my son.  My husband is a meat eater.  My cooking reflects my household.  I tend to cook veg meals that go well with a simply cooked piece of meat or with the addition of grilled chicken or seafood.  Right now I am excited because canned pumpkin is finally in the stores.  I love to cook and bake with canned pumpkin.  My plan is to stockpile cans of pumpkin so that I’ll have plenty to last through the winter months.  In celebration of canned pumpkin I am sharing a favorite recipe Pumpkin Black Bean Soup.  It’s quick, easy and delicious!  For the meat eaters in your home feel free to grill some shrimp seasoned with cumin and pepper and add to their serving.

  • 2 15 ounce cans of black beans drained and rinsed
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 1 red or green pepper chopped
  • A few celery stalks chopped
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon chili pepper
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 4 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 15 ounce can pumpkin puree (be sure it’s pure pumpkin not pie mix!)
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • Salt, pepper to taste
  • ¼ chopped cilantro (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice (optional)

Saute onion, pepper, and celery in olive oil until translucent.  Add garlic and seasoning and sauté for another minute.  Add broth and black beans and bring to a boil over medium high heat.  Lower heat to medium and add in pumpkin puree.  Stir until well blended and simmer a few minutes.  Stir in lime juice.

When serving sprinkle fresh cilantro on top of the bowl.

This entire recipe takes about 30 minute’s total.  10 minutes prep time and 20 minutes cook time.  Enjoy

Entry filed under: Cook. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

NaNoWriMo and The Edible Woman Salad Dressing

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ariel  |  November 18, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    I made this tonight for dinner (yey not being sick anymore! Though my host mom seems to have caught it now, so that sucks.) Anyway everyone loved it. Couldn’t find black beans OR canned pumpkin anywhere in this city, so I used pinto beans and a fresh butternut squash (boiled it down, chopped it up, and mashed it with a potato masher.) I had to boil the soup down a bit to thicken it up, and the squash made the texture of the soup come out a bit stringy, but overall it was a success; my HM even asked me for the recipe, and she hates to cook! =D

    Reply
  • 2. Easy Chicken/Steak Marinade « Cook & Hook  |  November 18, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    […] sick anymore!  Woo!  I wasn’t going to have anything to post tonight since I made my moms Pumpkin Black Bean Soup for dinner, but then I remembered that last week (before I caught the flu from the kids) I made […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cook & Hook

A fun, feminist blog for the Suzy Homemaker in some of us.

Calender

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories

1 Book Cook Hook Other

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


