Steamers

October 6, 2009 at 6:26 am 8 comments

Oh my gosh!  I am so cold!  I just got home from spending the morning downtown (it’s noon here in Denmark now) switching the days of my language class and picking up some school supplies.  I can’t believe I forgot my new gloves at home!  So what I’m making now is a cinnamon steamer to warm me up.  I used to make these at a coffeehouse I worked at and the fact that I don’t have an espresso machine at my disposal is a non-issue.  Here’s what I do:

Cinnamon Steamers

Ingredients:

(Scaled for one person.  Takes about 5 minutes to make.)

  • Milk (a mug-full and a half of cows milk or one mug-full of soy milk)
  • Sugar (a teaspoon or two, or to taste)
  • Cinnamon (a teaspoon or two, or to taste.  A cinnamon stick works too.  Or, sub for a handful of your favorite non-citric fruit!)

Cook

  1. Pour milk into a saucepan with sugar and cinnamon.  Stir together.
  2. Bring milk to a boil.
  3. Cows milk:  Take off heat after it has had more or less tripled in size.  It will deflate once taken off heat.  Stir again, then serve!
  4. Soy milk: Take off heat when hot enough.  Stir and serve!

-Ariel

Entry filed under: Cook. Tags: , , .

Sharing Advice: 3 Tips to Getting Dinner Done (On-Time.) Yummy Fried Chicken

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lin  |  October 9, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    Is it the foreign country or that you are related to vegetarians? Most people assume that it’s cow’s milk without feeling compelled to say so!

    Reply
  • 2. Ariel  |  October 11, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Well I am related-to and have friends who are vegetarians, but really I felt compelled to specify cows milk vs soy because both taste really good but react differently to heat. (On that note, citric fruits can be added to soy milk steamers without the fear of curdling, for anyone in the mood for a hot orange-and-cocoa-powder soy milk steamer, or whatever else comes to your imagination.)

    Reply
  • 3. calixti  |  October 17, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    I’m guessing almond milk would use the same instructions as soy?

    Reply
  • 4. Ariel  |  October 17, 2009 at 4:18 pm

    probably, though I’ve never tried it. I’ll have to see if I can find any here and give it a go =]

    Reply
  • 5. calixti  |  October 17, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    I’m delighted to say it works with almond milk. ❤ Almond milk doesn't increase in volume like cow's milk, so definitely just heat it to the desired temp. I heated it until it just started to bubble–as a warning, heating it that long seems to thicken it a little.

    Reply
  • 6. jennyknopinski  |  October 18, 2009 at 8:49 am

    This sounds really good. It has been freezing cold and raining for day here in Washington DC and this is just what I need!

    Reply
  • 7. Lyndsay  |  October 19, 2009 at 2:18 am

    That sounds quite good. What non-citric fruit would you suggest? And when would you put it in?

    Reply
  • 8. Ariel  |  October 19, 2009 at 2:55 am

    I’d put it in with the sugar, right as I bring it to a boil. I usually use soy milk if adding fruit (just a personal preference) and I’ve found berries (blueberries, blackberries, raspberries) tend to work best, probably because they are so sweet and juicy. Strain first if seeds will annoy you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Cook & Hook

A fun, feminist blog for the Suzy Homemaker in some of us.

Calender

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

1 Book Cook Hook Other

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


